In the seventh annual Templar Classic 3-on-3 Soccer Tournament held on Saturday, May 20, 52 teams competed across eight divisions.


3-on-3 soccer tournament in Ephraim draws 52 teams


James Tilson

Staff writer



EPHRAIM — Fifty-two teams from all over Utah participated recently in the seventh annual Templar Classic 3-on-3 Soccer Tournament.

The Templar Classic, which took place on Saturday, May 20, is organized by Eleshia Steinfeldt, the girls’ soccer coach at Manti High School. She started it seven years ago to “rally the community” around soccer in Sanpete County.

The tournament has grown over the years, and this year’s tournament had teams from Salt Lake City, St. George, Richfield, Nephi and Emery County, as well as numerous teams from communities in Sanpete County.

Teams in the tournament consist of five players with three playing at a time. There are no referees, so the players are responsible to call their own fouls and out of bounds plays.

Everyone is on an honor system, Steinfeldt explains, and the tournament runs pretty smoothly at a fast pace to get all the games finished in time.

The winner in each division are:

Second and third grades: “Thunder” with players James Dettinger, Trace Anderson, Tyler Steinfeldt and Trevor Christensen.

Fourth and fifth grades: “Real Gunnison” with players Pearson Judy, Tyson Tucker, Justin Carlisle, Hayden Davis and Zack Overly.

Middle school girls: “Gucci” with players Sharlie Alder, Allie Bridges, Jacie Jolley, Ally Squire and Taylor Chidester.

Middle school boys: “FBB” with players Roman Maldanado, Marcos Frutos, Alberto Tinoco, Adalberto Tinoco and Edward Lara.

High school girls: “Black Pack” with players Karli Arnoldson, Nicole Nelson, Kiana Pogroszewski, Avalin Cook and Meg Larsen.

High school boys: “UVU” with players Jason Paredes, Brando Cardona, Luis Rubio and Alberto Palmerin.

–           Women’s division: “SMAKK” with players Aydre Moysh, Savannah Watt, Kelly Shand, Mikaela Cox and McKenna Christensen.

Men’s division: “Oasis” with Miguel Felipe, Isai Carias, Jorge Lemus, Juan Miguel and Luis Migeul.

First place winners of the men’s division, Team Oasis: (L-R) Miguel Felipe, Isai Carias, Jorge Lemus, Juan Miguel and Luis Miguel.