American Legion Post 31 of Manti names winners of its annual essay contest last week

MANTI—American Legion Auxiliary Manti Unit 31 held its annual Americanism Essay Contest recently, and winners have been announced.

Level four: Hunter Hughes, first place; Madison Scottorn, second place; Colter Denton, third place.

“It’s refreshing to know that our children realize the value of being an American citizen, living in America, and appreciate our freedoms, and the responsibilities that go along with those freedoms.  We appreciate all of the 187 students, and teachers who took the time to participate,” says Essay Chairman Leah Black. Black said that all the essays were well-written and enjoyable to read.

The awards were given at the American Legion monthly meeting on Thursday, May 13 at 6 p.m. at the Legion Hall, 165 S. Main, where students read their essays.

Level three: Sarah Watson, third place. Not available for picture: Matthew Lundeberg, first place and Colby Simons, second place.

The Manti Auxiliary Unit gave checks and certificates to all first, second, third place and honorable mention recipients. First place winners won $25, second place won $15, third place won $10, and honorable mention won $5.

In Class II (5th and 6th graders), Tyler Steinfeldt of Sterling won first; Auburn Adamson of Manti won second; Paisley Lund of Manti won third and Areli Alcala of Manti won honorable mention.

In Class III (7th and 8th graders), Matthew Lundeberg of Manti won first; Colby Simons of Manti won second and Sara Watson of Ephraim won third.

In Class IV (9th and 10th graders), Hunter Hughes of Ephraim won first; Madison Scottorn of Ephraim won second and Colter Denton of Sterling won third.

Level five: Kylle Hanks, honorable mention. Not available for picture: Libby Simmons, first place; Kaylee Olsen, second place; Tucker Shaffer, third place.

In Class V (11th and 12th graders), Libby Simons of Manti won first; Kaylee Olsen of Manti won second; Tucker Shaffer of Manti won third and Kylee Hanks of Ephraim won honorable mention.

State winners were Class IV: Hunter Hughes, $25; Class V: Libby Simons, $25, and Class III: Mathew Lundeberg won honorable mention.

Copies of the original essays are available for reading by contacting Leah Black 851-9432.

Level two: Tyler Steinfeldt, first place; Auburn Adamson, second place; Paisley Lund, third place. Not available for picture: Areli Alcala, honorable mention.