Sanpete Sterling Scholars to represent schools as top scholars

Sanpete Sterling Scholars to

represent schools as top scholars


By Linda Petersen

Staff writer

Mar. 1, 2018


Thirty-four Sanpete County high school seniors have been nominated for 2018 Sterling Scholar awards by their schools.

Manti High and North Sanpete High have 15 nominees, and Gunnison Valley High School has nominated four scholars.

The Desert News/KSL Broadcast Group contest honors outstanding public high school seniors in 15 different categories. (A nominee may be nominated in only one category). Along with academic achievement, the Sterling Scholars program recognizes the nominees’ leadership and service efforts.

The program is conducted in five regions throughout the state. Sanpete schools are part of the contests Central Utah Region. Participating schools are Gunnison Valley, Manti, North Sanpete, Delta, Juab, Millard, Piute, South Sevier, North Sevier, Richfield, Tintic, Wayne and West Desert.

From Gunnison Valley High School, four students have been nominated: Michael Hansen, Visual Arts; Carolyn Donaldson, Music; Kamree Tucker, General Scholarship; Kylee Keisel, Dance.

Manti High School has nominated 15 students: Alexis Jaussi, Dance; Denali Baker, Family & Consumer Sciences; Kristin DeLeeuw, Science; Jasmine Alcala, Agricultural Science; Killick Mickelson, Computer & Information Technology; Alex Stevens, Trade & Technical Education; Breanna Hedelius, Mathematics; Katelyn Allred, English & Literature; Justin Bawden, Speech & Drama; Regan Rouska, Visual Arts; Kjerstin Birch, Business & Marketing; Emily Frischknecht, Music; Timothy Krzymowski, World Languages; Warren Hess, Social Science; Jensen Wood, General.

Fifteen students at North Sanpete High School have been nominated: Tyler Blackham, Business & Marketing Education; Emily Barker, Family & Consumer Sciences; Trevor Ence, Mathematics; Emily Hill, Speech/Theater Arts/Forensics; Makade Talbot, English & Literature; Madisyn Allred, Computer & Information Technology; Kailee Burgess, Dance; Thomas De Groff, Science; Anna Staker, General Scholarship; Mason Mayo, Agriculture Science; Christian Sanchez, World Languages; Hannah Ostraff, Visual Arts; Wesley Madsen, Trade & Technical Education; Allyssa Ericksen, Social Science; Trevor Olson, Music.

Sterling Scholar nominees submit a portfolio online (and in some categories, exhibits) and are judged on scholarship, category scholarship, leadership, and community service/citizenship prior to being interviewed by the judges. Interviews for the Central Utah Region competition will be held on Thursday, March 15.

A presentation ceremony where the winners and first and second runners up will be recognized will be held at Richfield High School that evening. The winners and runners-up in each category receive cash awards. Several Utah colleges and universities also offer scholarships to both winners and runners-up.

The categories students can be nominated in are English & Literature, Speech/Theatre Arts/Forensics, Mathematics, Social Science, Science, World Language ,Visual Arts, Computer And Information Technology, Trade And Technical Education, Agriculture Science, Family And Consumer Sciences, Music, Dance and General Scholarship.