The North and South Sanpete School Districts have released their 2021 COVID-19 protocols for the coming school year.
Both districts are following identical protocol guidelines as designated by the state.
In regards to the COVID-19, vaccination is not a requirement to enroll in school or join an extracurricular activity. Parents should consult their healthcare providers about vaccinating eligible students ages 12 or older.
In accordance with Utah House Bill 1007, face masks will not be mandatory in school, including on buses.
According to the law, any local school board or school “may not require an individual to wear a face covering to attend or participate in in-person instruction, district or school-sponsored athletics, extracurricular activity or in any other place on the campus of a school or school facility.”
Both North and South Sanpete School Districts note that most health officials encourage wearing face masks to prevent the spread of COVID-19.
COVID-19 testing will not be required in most circumstances, including extracurricular activities. According to state law, testing will only be required if a school has more than 30 positive COVID-19 cases. In this situation, students will be required to be tested to remain in school for learning or extracurricular activities—unless they have been immunized or have had a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the previous 90 days.
Students who feel COVID-like symptoms are asked to stay home, which will reduce the possibility of having to implement “test-to-stay” policies. Any student that tests positive will not be permitted to attend school or activities during their isolation period.
Students or staff that get a positive test result for COVID-19 are required to isolate at home for 10 days from the onset of their first symptoms or for ten days for a test date of asymptomatic infection (regardless of vaccination status).
Decisions in regards to quarantine will be made by the Central Utah Public Health Department. Schools will assist with tracing and parent notification as needed. Students or staff will be required to quarantine if they spent more than 15 minutes in the same indoor area as a positive test case. A quarantine notice will suggest that the infected patient stay home for up to 10 days unless they are immunized, have had a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the past 90- days or choose to wear a face mask at school for 10 days after their exposure.
Any students who test positive or are exposed to COVID-19 and choose to remain at home during their quarantine period will undergo remote learning under the direction of their regular classroom teachers for up to 10 days.
According to HB1007, schools will continue to implement their best practices with cleaning, physical distancing, assigned seating and other actions designed to minimize the spread of the virus.
There is no current restriction on group gatherings on a school campus.
Districts will post COVID-19 case counts regularly on their website.